The Nativity Through Abrahamic Literature: Part 9: Perspectives Of A Fellow Traveler

 

The Light of the New Born Jesus: Latin Infancy Gospel, Arundel Manuscript

The following is post number 9 in my series, “The Nativity Through Abrahamic Literature”. This post centers around some of the unique qualities of the new born Jesus. It comes from the Latin Infancy Gospel, Arundel Manuscript, from the book, The Other Bible Edited by Willis Barnestone

“I, however, stood stupefied and amazed. Awe grasped me. I was gazing intently at the fantastically bright light that had been born. The light, however, after a while, shrank, imitated the shape of an infant, then immediately became outwardly an infant in the usual manner of born infants. I became bold and leaned over and touched him. I lifted him in my hands with great awe, and I was terrified because he had no weight like other babies who were born. I looked at him closely; there was no blemish on him, but he was in his body totally shining, just as the dew of the most high God. He was light to carry, splendid to see. For a while I was amazed at him because he did not cry as newborn children are supposed to. While I beheld him, looking into his face, he laughed at me with a most joyful laugh, and, opening his eyes, he looked intently at me. Suddenly, a great light came forth from his eyes like a great flash of lightning.”

 

Source: The Nativity Through Abrahamic Literature: Part 9: The Light of the New Born Jesus: Latin Infancy Gospel, Arundel Manuscript | Perspectives Of A Fellow Traveler

