Sometimes it Hurts When Treatment Works

You can run but you can’take hide, because it lies within

Art by Rob Goldstein

Art by Rob Goldstein A Multiverse of the Mind

My psychotherapy is always in a cycle of denial, acceptance and change.

I define change as undoing flawed and self-destructive patterns of perception.

I am not stupid.

I am not lazy.

I am not a pervert.

Each word imposed on me before I learned
to understand  ‘I am.”

I’ve had two sessions of EMDR  therapy with plenty
of time between sessions for me to process the
sessions.

It’s taken five years for me to develop enough trust
in my therapist to go ahead with EMDR.

EMDR opens up communication between
alternates and two of my youngest ones
are sharing their memories with me.

Some of these memories  are terrible.

Who wants to remember the pain and isolation of an
abusive childhood?

Who wants to remember being raped?

To accept is to fully own each memory in its fullness.

I must accept…

View original post 39 more words

