TERRIER HUNT

Grady P Brown Author

My beloved pit bulls finally came close to becoming true terriers the other day. Terriers are specifically bred to hunt vermin like rats and mice and my boys almost caught a rodent. I was cleaning up the backyard when I heard this rustling in the trees. I look up and this squirrel jumped out of the tree, flew centimeters from my face, and landed on the ground. Wally and Fitch went into “Terrier Mode” and started chasing the squirrel from one side of the backyard to the other, eventually chasing it into the pool. The squirrel swam around the pool, but the boys cut off its every attempt to climb out. Afterwards, the squirrel climbed out of the pool with Wally and Fitch hot on its tail. It went under a bush, where Wally dove after it. Ultimately, the two pit bulls cornered the squirrel at the base of a tree. They would have killed the squirrel if I hadn’t intervened. After calling the boys off, the squirrel climbed up the tree and started trash talking the dogs. The whole thing happened so fast that it took me a few moments to process it. We won’t be having visits from squirrels for a while after that.

Source: TERRIER HUNT

