En Plein Air Painting of Kentucky Lake

En Plein Air Painting of Kentucky Lake

IMG_0023.jpg

I recently got back from a week long trip to Kentucky Lake, which started out great, but got rather dicey at the end.  At any rate, one of the highlights of the trip was that I got to paint en plein air (outside) on a day when it wasn’t hot and humid.

Here are the results of my painting session.  My family and I went to Lighthouse Landing at Kentucky Lake.  I took along some small (9 x 12) sheets of toothy pastel paper, and my Nupastels, which are hard pastels.  They are great for traveling, as they don’t take up much space.

I decided to add warmer blues and yellows to the boats and the foreground water, because it was so cold and blue.  I wanted it to have more warmth.

My plein air work is not usually as smooth and finished as my studio work.  I’m looking at this right now, and seeing that I could consider softening some of the passages in here.  However, I will probably leve it as is, to maintain the loose and spontaneous quality that makes plein air work desirable.

As you can see, this was a partly cloudy day.  It was mostly cloudy by the end of this painting session, which was about 2.5 hours.

Source: En Plein Air Painting of Kentucky Lake

