Spindrift

SPINDRIFT

The compass sets the course with the snap of canvas
as the sails fill and rise and leans to their side
chasing the breeze and departing on winds of time.
Bow and sea entwine as Whale Song
and float on rolling waves that beat with
rhythmic pulses and entrances me while
catching the wind. The seaward path
carries my vessel through the
white caps while sea spray
kisses the bow and me as
we sail on the waves
while dolphins
playfully
swim
along.
The
song
of
the
sea
always
sings a
melodious tune
and washes me in
a salty balsamic
perfume through all
of my senses as I
tremble like wind
blown sea grass.
Across the bay you
can hear a distant
tolling from the
lighthouse bell
while the day
pales slowly
away in a
coral
sky
and
the
stars
dangle
above as
the horizon
swallows the
sun and the
sails empty
and droop
while a
hush
falls
upon the
sea and me.

© Roxi St. Clair

Source: Spindrift