Was Elsa from Frozen Autistic?

Anonymously Autistic

WAS ELSA FROM FROZEN AUTISTIC?

I didn’t want to watch Disney’s Frozen when it came out. It was too popular and everyone loved it. Maybe I still have have a bit of a rebellious streak in me.

Eventually my grandmother asked me if I would watch the movie with her and my cousin. My grandmother means the world to me, so if she wants me to come over and watch a movie, I will without argument.

Mentally prepared to watch a lame movie, I was presently surprised. The movie was pretty good and something unexpected happened.

When I first saw the movie Frozen, I knew almost nothing about Autism. I almost instantly felt a strong connection to Elsa’s character and her “conceal, don’t feel” mantra.

I’ve always felt as if I were hiding something, but before I learned about AS what I was hiding was hard for me to name.

Hans Christian Anderson is thought to have been somewhere on the spectrum. This cannot be proven, but if it were true many of his stories could easily parallel many autistic scenarios.

The Disney song Let it go stirred up strong feelings within me. How could a cartoon tell my story so accurately? Was Elsa from Frozen Autistic?

Don’t let them in, don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel, don’t let them know

Source: Was Elsa from Frozen Autistic?

