Strange Dreams – Art by Rob Goldstein

Strange Dream #14

Strange Dream #14

I am in Manhattan to meet Christ.

I take in the sights of 7th Avenue.

Shards of rain slice the sky.

I pause at Caesura’s Cafe for a liberal latte.

“Ex-presso!” I say.

“But you want a cappuccino!” replies the waiter.

“I want an ex-presso.”

The waiter gets huffy, “State your intentions!” he snaps,  “This is no way to meet Christ!”

I finish my coffee and board the F Train via the D.

An old woman on the seat across from me winks.

“Oh, the unbearable lightness of being.” I sigh.

“Don’t be absurd!” snaps the old woman.

The train rattles and roars.

I raise a finger and point toward Heaven. “Tell him to don’t.”

The old woman cackled. “Oh, He never Don’ts! Where do you meet Him?”

“At Pennsylvania Station.”

“That could be any time.”

“That could be as we speak.”

The old woman rummaged through her bags, “But it won’t be you know, He hates mixing action with dialogue.”

The waiter delivers my Cappuccino with flourish and whispers,

“He is everywhere. He is in your hair.”

RG 2015

 

Source: Strange Dreams – Art by Rob Goldstein

5 comments

Comments are closed.